Search the Collection
Advanced Search

Melbourne Regatta Grand Challenge Cup Race Won by LRC W Cowper

Date: 09 November 1864
195 x 95 mm (3.73 in)
Medium: Silver
Credit Line: ANMM Collection
Object Name: Trophy
Object No: 00042371

User Terms

    HistoryThe first organised rowing regatta was staged in Tasmania on Hobart's Derwent River on January 5, 1827. Annual regattas celebrating the founding of Sydney began in 1837, and in 1863 the first intercolonial races were held on the Parramatta River. In 1864 a crew selected from members of three Victorian clubs beat crews from the Sydney Rowing Club, Hobart, Geelong and Ballarat on a four mile course on Melbourne's lower Yarra. The first official race for eights took place on March 6, 1878 on the lower Yarra.

    The Australian Henley Regatta was established in 1904 and one of the objects of the association was to provide Challenge Cups for competition on lines similar to the Royal Henly-on-Thames Regatta in the UK. The Elswick Challenge was awarded to junior fours while the Grand Challenge was awarded to senior eights.

    The Sandridge Sailing Club was one of the earliest sailing clubs in Victoria. The first regatta was held in Sandridge in 1853. Sandridge eventually became Port Melbourne.

    The DOLPHIN was a centreboarder racing on Port Phillip Bay in the 1870s and is featured in R.P. Neale's ' Jolly Dogs are We: the history of yachting in Victoria 1838 - 1894', Landscape Publications, Mont Albert, Vic, 1984

    Related People

    Discuss this Object


    Please log in to add a comment.