Search the Collection
Advanced Search

Sydney Rowing Club Fours and a single scull training on the Parramatta River, Sydney

Date: c 1890
Dimensions:
Overall: 252 x 302 x 1 mm
Medium: Silver gelatin print, mount board
Credit Line: ANMM Collection Gift from Christine Stewart
Classification:Photographs
Object Name: Photograph
Object No: ANMS1288[009]
Related Place:Sydney,

User Terms

    Description
    This mounted photograph of a rowing Fours crew training, was taken by W F Hall.
    SignificanceThis photograph is associated with other rowing memorabilia that documents the history of Sydney Rowing Club in the late ninteenth century and the club's role in sending the Australian Eights crew to participate at the Olympic Games in Stockholm and the Royal Henley Regatta in 1912. The photographs, letters and clippings provide a unique insight into the complexity and triumphs of Australian rowers competing in Sydney and abroad from the late 1890s to 1912.
    HistorySydney Rowing Club is the oldest Rowing Club in New South Wales and was founded in 1870. It was originally situated at East Circular Quay but heavy water traffic necessitated a move to Woolloomooloo in 1889 and then to Abbotsford on the Parramatta River.

    Australia first sent rowers to Stockholm 1912. The eight won the Grand Challenge Cup at the Henley Regatta en route to Sweden. A change of personnel between Henley and Stockholm resulted in the crew losing some form and it missed a medal, whilst the Leander crew, which finished second at Henley, won the gold medal for Great Britain.







    Additional Titles

    Collection title: Charles Keith Stewart Collection

    Assigned title: View Fours crew training

    Web title: Sydney Rowing Club Fours and a single scull training on the Parramatta River, Sydney

    Related People

    Discuss this Object

    Comments

    Please log in to add a comment.