Search the Collection
Advanced Search

Manly ferry BARRENJOEY on Sydney Harbour

Date: c 1930
Medium: Emulsion on glass
Credit Line: ANMM Collection Gift from Mr and Mrs Glassford
Classification:Photographs
Object Name: Glass plate negative
Object No: ANMS1092[077]

User Terms

    SignificanceThe Hall photographic collection provides an important pictorial record of recreational boating in Sydney Harbour from the 1890s to the 1930s. The collection documents the lively sailing scene in Sydney during this period and features images of vessels ranging from large racing and cruising yachts to the great array of skiffs and the emerging technologies of motorboats. Images of many of Sydney Harbour's iconic ferries are also included in this visual record.
    HistoryBARRENJOEY was built in 1913 by Mort's Dock in Woolwich, Sydney, for the Port Jackson and Manly Steamship Company.

    BARRENJOEY was the eighth ferry to enter the Manly - Circular Quay run for the Port Jackson company and was named after a site on the Hawkesbury River at Broken Bay. In 1948 BARRENJOEY was taken out of service due to the rising cost of fuel and converted to diesel-electric. Other new features were added to the vessel, including fully enclosed decks, more loading gates and a new name - NORTH HEAD.

    NORTH HEAD was employed in the Manly ferry service from 1951 to 1985. In 1987 the ferry was sold and used as a floating restaurant and convention centre.
    Related People

    Discuss this Object

    Comments

    Please log in to add a comment.