Search the Collection
Advanced Search

ANMM Collection Reproduced courtesy of Donald Bastock


Date: c 1988
Overall: 252 x 355 mm, 0.05 kg
Medium: Oil on composite board
Credit Line: ANMM Collection Gift from John Bastock
Object Copyright: © Donald Bastock
Object Name: Painting
Object No: 00016911
Place Manufactured:Australia

User Terms

    HMS DRAKE was the flagship of the Royal Navy's Australia Station between 1911-1913. It was the fastest and most powerful vessel to serve on the Australia Station, but its service was only for a short period of time as the Royal Australian Navy fleet arrived in 1913.
    SignificanceThis painting offers a modern portrayal of the Australia Station flagship HMS DRAKE (1911-1913) and indicates the protection provided by British naval ships in Australia during the early 20th century.
    HistoryHMS DRAKE was commissioned at Pembroke in 1903 and sent to the Australia Station in 1911. DRAKE's service coincided with Australia's transition from the protection of the Royal Navy to the Royal Australian Navy's (RAN). By 1 January 1913 DRAKE was returning to England after finishing its service in Australia. During World War I DRAKE was part of the Sixth Cruiser Squadron and conducted escort operations for fleet convoys in the Atlantic. In 1917 the ship was lost after being torpedoed by a German submarine in Rathlin Sound.

    During the 19th century Britain was preoccupied with increasing its colonial territories and maintaining the empire. The British Royal Navy (RN) at the height of its power divided the world into strategic zones or stations that were manned by a squadron of warships responsible for cruising and protecting British territories and shipping. Until the 1850s Australasia was covered by the East India Station, a vast area that included the Indian Ocean and the waters around Australia. After pressure from the colonial governments of New Zealand and Australia the RN formed the Australia Station as a separate command in 1859.

    The station was established to guard British shipping and trade in the Australasian region and ensure sea routes were open and safe. In 1859 the Australia Station included the territories of New Zealand, Chatham Island, New Hebrides, Loyalty Islands, Fiji and Australia. By 1903 the boundaries were increased to include New Guinea, Caroline and Marshall Islands and the Society Islands.
    Additional Titles

    Web title: HMS DRAKE

    Assigned title: HMS DRAKE

    Related People

    Discuss this Object


    Please log in to add a comment.