Search the Collection
Advanced Search

Custom House, Brisbane

Date: c 1897
Dimensions:
Overall: 151 x 198 mm
Medium: Silver gelatin print
Credit Line: ANMM Collection Gift from Robert D McKilliam
Classification:Photographs
Object Name: Photograph
Object No: ANMS0227[034]

User Terms

    Description
    A black and white street photograph showing Customs House in Brisbane. To the left of the imposing building designed by colonial architect Charles McLay, is an electrified tram. Queensland was the earliest city to adopt electricity beginning with street lamps in 1882 along Queen Street in Brisbane.

    SignificanceThis image is a part of the Captain Robert McKilliam collection. Captain McKilliam worked for the Aberdeen White Star Line for 32 years and sailed aboard such famous clipper ships as SALAMIS and THERMOPYLAE. He moved to Sydney in 1913 where he served as Assistant Wharf Master on Darling Island.
    HistoryBrisbane's river access saw it grow into a busy trading port in Australia and in 1886 it was clear the original smaller, brick customs building was no longer adequate. The Colonial Architects Office commissioned Charles McLay to design the new three story Customs House on Queens Street and building began in 1886.
    Traditionally Victorian in its style, the building, completed only 3 years later, was imposing and notable for its copper sheathed dome.
    In 1901 it became part of the commonwealth government customs service and still stands today in Queen Street as an ongoing testament to the sea trade that once bustled on the Brisbane River.
    Additional Titles

    Assigned title: View of Customs House, Brisbane, Queensland at centre with rectangular columns made of stone and concrete with large dome over entrance

    Collection title: Custom House, Brisbane

    Discuss this Object

    Comments

    Please log in to add a comment.